God is My Hiding Place

One of the many books I read as a young woman was the book entitled The Hiding Place by Corrie ten Boom. It was given to me by my grandmother who sensed I might be interested in what the author had to say. I was very much interested. The book, for those who haven’t read it, details ten Boom’s experiences hiding Jewish people in Holland during World War 2 and what happened to her and her family after they were caught by the Nazis.  At that time in my life, I was interested in anything regarding World War 2 so this book which also proclaimed this family’s Christian faith unabashedly was a book that had a tremendous impact on my life as a young woman of faith.

But, what I didn’t realize until now, was how the book related to the concept of God being my hiding place. Psalm 32:7 says this. “You are my hiding place; you protect me from trouble. you surround me with songs of victory.”  I’m still getting used to the idea of God being my refuge. Of being my refuge where I can say anything to Him, and I won’t be rejected. I’ve been rejected by the world. I’ve been rejected by people who say they are Christians. But I’ll never be rejected by God. He is my Savior! He is my Lord! And He is always there!

Spending time in His presence, hiding with Him to continue the analogy, gives me the courage, the strength, the capacity even, to be out in the world and love the people around me even when they don’t love me back.  That’s because I’m not loving them out of my own heart; I am loving them with Jesus in my heart. I’ll be the first to admit though I am not perfect with this all the time.  I’ve been frustrated, even fearful, with life lately. And this year is starting out to be an overwhelming year with all the change that’s ahead for my family. But I want Jesus to be a part of all that. I want Him to be a part of the celebration with my son graduating from high school and leaving for college.  I want to fill up my cup with so many memories that they are spilling out.  And I want His love to spill out from me too. So, when I am overwhelmed or when I am fearful, I will remember to go and hide with my Lord and Savior and let His love fill me up.

God’s blessings on you today!

4 thoughts on “God is My Hiding Place”

  1. Beautiful way of looking at it 🙂 I always love “God is…” messages because they give more attributes for us to associate with God. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

