Seeking and Finding God

Jeremiah 29:13

“You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.”

It’s been almost three years since I’ve come back to faith. Almost three years since my older son asked the question that changed my life. So, you would think I would have this seeking and finding God thing down. Some days I think I do, but then there are others…when life just overwhelms me, and I think, “What now, God?” Those are the days when I think of how nice it would be to be done, to be in my heavenly home, and not have to wonder why prayers for one person worked and why they didn’t for another.  Not have to wonder how I’m going to pay for something or even if I should because I’m not sure it’s in God’s will for me. Not have to wonder if my prayers are even reaching God’s ears.

There is an answer to these questions and wonderings though, and it has to do with the Bible verse at the beginning of this post. It says that we will find God when we seek Him with all our hearts. When bad things happen, it’s hard to keep seeking Him with “all our hearts”. Yes, we might keep seeking Him with some of our hearts, but the verse says we need to seek God with “all our hearts”.

How do we do that when our attention is diverted by the storms of life? It almost seems to me there needs to be a specific shift in our mindset. We need to consciously say to ourselves–“God, I’m going to keep seeking you even in this storm, and I know I will find you.” When we can do that, I believe we will find God even in the storms, even in the pit, even when there is nothing left.

God’s blessings on you today!

One thought on “Seeking and Finding God”

Leave a Reply

