Grievous Sacred Moments

The title of this blog post was used in the sermon I heard on Sunday. It was a sermon on prayer and fasting. I’ve heard some sermons on prayer, good sermons, but I don’t think I’ve ever heard a sermon on prayer and fasting.

This post is not specifically about prayer and fasting though, but about my title, “Grievous Sacred Moments,” which was used during the sermon and which my pastor said we should all pray and fast our way through.

All of what was said was poignant with possibilities for me, but the first thing I want to do is define what “grievous sacred moments” are. Some of these moments are fairly obvious–like death and illness. Others not so much–like sin, threats, or enormous tasks. And I had never heard of praying and fasting through any of them. I wonder why that is, but, then, as soon as the question entered my mind, the answer did too. For me, these are moments that are sometimes too deep for words. Moments of deep inadequacy. Moments that you feel awkward about or feel aren’t worth asking prayer for because others’ prayer requests are more important.

Why is it there are certain moments that we take to God more than others? Why is it that we resist letting God, or others for that matter, in to the deepest parts of us?  I believe it is because we have a profound resistance to letting God in. And, as a Western Christian, I have even more difficulty because of the emphasis on individualism in this area of the world. The concept of community is harder for Western Christians because they are inundated with messages, even from the pulpit, that say they are supposed to rely on themselves and not on God and the community He has provided for them.

As I think of praying and fasting through grievous sacred moments, I believe that God might use this to break down my profound resistance and grow me into the disciple He wants me to be.  So, I am looking forward to what God is going to teach me over the next few weeks  as I learn to pray and fast my way through grievous sacred moments.

God’s blessings on you today.

One thought on “Grievous Sacred Moments”

  1. Great take on this subject, Alisa! Talking, and praying, through grievous, sacred moments in community are essential to true discipleship. Thanks for helping me better understand/appreciate this concept. Praying God’s blessings for a transformative 2015.

Leave a Reply

