The Victory is Won

When I talk or write about the depression I’ve suffered with, I often use the analogy of a pit. The times when I am at my blackest is usually when I’m at the bottom of the pit. Jesus joins me there. His presence is always comforting, never condemning. He knows what I need to work through, and He is accepting of who I am and not who other people would like me to be. Why wouldn’t He accept me? God the Father is the one who created me.

I’ve realized something today though. When everything is said and done and Jesus comes back for His church, I will not be in the pit! I will be watching as Satan is thrown in there. Revelation 20:1-2 says, “Then I saw an angel coming down from heaven with the key to the abyss and a great chain in his hand. He seized the dragon, that ancient serpent who is the Devil and Satan and bound him for 1000 years.” Further on into the chapter, it talks about how Satan’s final destination is the lake of fire which I consider to be a never-ending pit.

My point with all of this is that God has already won the victory. There will be no more suffering, no more pain. The pain I’ve suffered in the pit will be gone, and Satan will no longer laugh because he will be gone too. Until then, we need to keep this knowledge at the forefront of our minds by daily prayer and Bible study. We need to pray for and support each other. We need to love each other like God has commanded us to do. But, most of all, we need to remember, God has already won!

God’s blessings on you today!

One thought on “The Victory is Won”

  1. Thank you for this reminder–the victory is won; Christmas reminds us of that. Now to walk as “more than conquerors” in 2015.

Leave a Reply

