Acting on What I Believe – A Challenge

In all the years I’ve been a professed Christian, I’ve never really thought about this until the last few weeks – how action translates what I believe into something beautiful. Into something Jesus wants to see from all who claim belief in Him.

I know we all have been in our churches and heard sermons on stewardship. Yes, giving money is not the only thing we can do in Jesus’ name, not the only action, but it’s the one I’m going to talk about today. Now, back to those sermons. Have you rolled your eyes at least once when you’ve heard those sermons? I will admit it. I have. It seems like all the yearly pleas for money have made us immune to what the money is really needed for. Do we really want to win our world for Christ? Or is church and what we do at church just something to check off our list and not even the most important part of our list? I don’t want church or my faith to be something to check off a list.  I want my life and my money to show what I really believe in. I want people to see Jesus in me. I might not be able to give as much money as someone else, but, from what I can give, money, as well as time, I want people to see  what my priorities are.  And my very first priority is my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

I write this today because today is Commitment Sunday at my church for our 2015 budget. And it is the very first time my heart is in tune with my actions. I want to “touch God’s heart with a renewed sense of generosity”.  God has tremendously blessed my family in the last few weeks, and I want to turn that around and bless others. I hope my church family joins me.  But, more than that, more than just money, I hope that all of you who are Christians will love people in Jesus’ name today.

God’s blessings on all of you!

2 thoughts on “Acting on What I Believe – A Challenge”

  1. I just read this blog. Wow. Thank you Alissa for putting into words, and actions, your faith. You and your family are a rich blessing to us.

Leave a Reply

