When You Can’t Feel God

This was the title of my devotion this morning, and after I had read it, I realized I had something to say about the topic. There have been many times in the last two months when I haven’t felt God’s presence, and they usually have been when I’ve been at my lowest and when I’ve been in the most pain. I wouldn’t wish the struggle my family has gone through on anyone.

But now that my family is on the other side of this struggle, I’ve realized a few things. The very first and most important of these things is that I’ve figured out what true faith is. It’s going through something when you don’t know what’s going to be at the other end. Having faith in God no matter what happens. This is a hard thing. Here is the definition of faith. “a belief that is not based on proof or a confidence and trust in a person, thing, deity, view, or in the doctrines or teachings of a religion.”  It’s easy to say you have faith in God, well, maybe not easy when you first come to faith. But, once you have faith, it’s easier to say you have it when you feel God’s presence. I believe having faith is the hardest though when you can’t feel His presence. When you’re at the bottom of the pit or in the middle of the desert. It’s important to have Christian brothers and sisters when you’re at those places. They are the people God uses to carry you so you will know He is there. I’m so lucky to have people like that in my life.

Another thing I’ve realized is that God already knows what’s going to happen at the end of the struggle. He’s already there forming and shaping me into the person He wants me to be. There have been things I’ve been uncomfortable doing and people I’ve been uncomfortable in talking with in regards to my faith. I’m starting to believe God has had me go through this struggle so I won’t be inflexible and resistant to change. I want people to see Jesus in me and then to ask what is different. It’s not me that’s going to change the little corner of the world I’m in.  It’s Jesus in me that’s going to change my little corner, and that’s the most sincere desire of my heart.

I leave you with this. There is a song Casting Crowns sings that’s called Already There. It reflects what has happened in my life over the last few weeks. Here are the lyrics.

 

“From where I’m standing
Lord it’s so hard for me to see
Where this is going
And where You’re leading me
I wish I knew how
All my fears and all my questions
Are gonna play out
In a world I can’t controlOh, oh

When I’m lost in the mystery
To You my future is a memory
Cause You’re already there
You’re already there
Standing at the end of my life
Waiting on the other side
And You’re already there
You’re already there

Oh, oh, oh, oh

From where You’re standing
Lord, You see a grand design
That You imagined
When You breathed me into life
And all the chaos
Comes together in Your hands
Like a masterpiece
Of Your picture perfect plan
When I’m lost in the mystery
To You my future is a memory
Cause You’re already there
You’re already there
Standing at the end of my life
Waiting on the other side
And You’re already there
You’re already there

One day I’ll stand before You
And look back on the life I’ve lived
I can’t wait to enjoy the view
And see how all the pieces fit

One day I’ll stand before You
And look back on the life I’ve lived
Cause You’re already there
You’re already there
When I’m lost in the mystery
To You my future is a memory
Cause You’re already there
You’re already there
Standing at the end of my life
Waiting on the other side
And You’re already there
You’re already there

You are already there”

God’s blessings on you all today!

 

Leave a Reply

