Into the Unknown

Into the unknown–a lot could be gleaned from the phrase, but that’s kind of where I am this week. It’s like I’m on the top of a cliff with the precipice crumbling which means I have no choice, but to jump. The unknown is not one of my favorite places to be as I’m sure it is with a lot of you. In our society, people take pride in being prepared, in knowing what’s going to happen. Their hearts and minds are settled if they have prepared for every contingency. But a lot of times, we don’t know what’s going to happen.  And, if we are being honest, we don’t like being in the position of not knowing what’s going to happen.

Back in Biblical times though, when Jesus came on the scene, He was the unknown. The people around Him and the Jewish establishment didn’t know what to expect either.  They didn’t expect His grace, His love, the sacrifice He ended up making for all of us.  His disciples didn’t expect their worlds would be entirely changed when He asked them to follow Him and then didn’t expect to change the world themselves through what they had to share of His love and His grace.  I’ve been a professed Christian for a long time, but I am still learning more and more of this every day.

The unknown is a scary place. I wouldn’t be honest if I didn’t say the circumstances I am in right now are scary. But, I know my Lord and Savior has me in the palm of His hand, and I just need to trust that He will provide. The lyrics of the song Oceans by Hillsong United demonstrate this aptly.

“You call me out upon the waters/The great unknown where feet may fail/And there I find You in the mystery/In oceans deep/ My faith will stand

“And I will call upon Your name/And keep my eyes above the waves/When oceans rise/My soul will rest in Your embrace/For I am Yours and You are mine

“Your grace abounds in deepest waters/Your sovereign hand/Will be my guide/Where feet may fail and fear surrounds me/You’ve never failed and You won’t stop now

“So I will call upon Your name/And keep my eyes above the waves/When oceans rise/My soul will rest in Your embrace/ For I am Yours and You are mine

“Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders/Let me walk upon the waters/ Wherever You would call me/ Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander/ And my faith will be made stronger/ In the presence of my Savior

“I will call upon Your name/ Keep my eyes above the waves/ My soul will rest in Your embrace/ I am Yours and You are mine”

God’s blessings on all of you today!

One thought on “Into the Unknown”

  1. Thanks for the reminder that the only way to experience true security is to jump in faith. Such an adventure is exhilarating precisely because it’s “dangerous.” As Keith reminded us on Sunday; doing “360’s on a bike is fun, because it’s dangerous.” Thanks for jumping into God’s arms as the ground crumbles beneath you…and for honestly sharing who you are with us.

Leave a Reply

