Hope

First Corinthians 13 in the Scriptures is known as the love chapter as the love is the main subject. Several verses in this chapter of my Bible are highlighted because they are verses I wish to keep in my heart. Love, however, is not the subject I am covering today. The final verse of the chapter, Verse 13, says this, “And now these three remain: faith, hope, and love. But the greatest of these is love.”  I’ve covered love and faith in previous posts so that only leaves hope which I am going to cover today.

There are a few different definitions of hope in the dictionary, but this is the one I feel is most relevant to the discussion.  “A  feeling of expectation and desire for a certain thing to happen.”

Hope is spoken of many times in the Bible. Here are just a few examples. Romans 8:24 – 25 says, “For in this hope we were saved. But hope that is seen is no hope at all. Who hopes for what they already have? But if we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently.”  Second Corinthians 3:12 says, “Therefore, since we have such a hope, we are very bold.” And finally back in Romans 5, the first five verses are a combination of faith, hope, and love, and I think an integral part of the Christian faith. “Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we boast in the hope of the glory of God. Not only so, but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been  poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.”

So, what does hope have to do with all of this, and what does it mean for the Christian today? Back in the first days of the Christian faith, it was spread by the disciples who had lived with Him, who had walked with Him, and who had seen His resurrection. They had a very powerful testimony because they had actually heard what Jesus had said. Jesus, however, had not given any indication of when He would return so that is where the faith and hope come in. I know you all have things you hope for as do I.  I hope for good things for my children; I hope there’s not a lot of traffic on the road when I go to church tonight; I hope I win the lottery. (just kidding, lol) I say that though to make the point that many of the things we hope for end up not coming true.  But, our hope in Jesus, that is one hope you can always count on.

God’s blessings to you all today!

 

Leave a Reply

