Commitment

A funny thing happened as I decided what I would post about today. I looked at the calendar and saw what the date was. Now, that might not seem important to many of you, but it was to me.  For today’s date is my twentieth wedding anniversary. Wow, twenty years! In many ways, the time has passed by like lightning, and in others, very slowly. So, when I saw the date, my topic was easy. As the title states, I’m going to talk about commitment.

Commitment is an important part of a wedding ceremony.  The vows men and women say to each other imply this,  and there is a societal expectation that the commitment made at this ceremony will be long-lasting. This is seen by the traditional vows used by many couples. “I, (name), take you, (name), to be my (wife/husband), to have and to hold from this day forward, for better or for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health, to love and to cherish; from this day forward until death do us part.” (wording found on About.com) “Death do us part.” The implication of commitment can certainly be seen by those final words.

Nowadays, though it’s hard to be committed to anything in our society.  The messages received from the media state that it’s ok to move to the next chapter when things get difficult. This is not only witnessed towards marriage, but towards any other thing that would be important to maintain a commitment to. Why do you suppose that is?  Well, in case you haven’t figured it out by now, commitment is hard. I mentioned in the first paragraph that my twentieth wedding anniversary is today.  Has it all been tulips and roses? No. I have spent more time in hospitals than you can possibly count. I have experienced deaths of friends and family members. I have experienced financial hardship. I have moved several times and experienced more change than I could have thought of twenty years ago. I mean, I really didn’t expect I would be living in Birmingham, Alabama now, on my twentieth wedding anniversary.

I’m betting your next question is why have I stayed. I meant what I said twenty years ago. I’m not one to drop things lightly. I do my best to stay committed to the things I say I’ll do.  Most importantly though, I made my commitment in the sight of God, and that is why I will keep it!

God’s blessings on you today!

One thought on “Commitment”

  1. So happy for you and Steve on this special day. What a great tribute to your life together, and the reality of living life in our fallen world. You have a precious family and your commitment to the sanctity of marriage contributes to the redemption of our world. Thanks for this reminder.

Leave a Reply

