A New Beginning

This blog represents a new beginning for me. In my previous blog, I touched on my Christian faith, but realized that I needed a place to talk about it, fully and passionately.  So, that’s what this is. A place where I will talk about the things I’m learning through my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ and how I’m applying them to my life and to my heart.

First is an explanation of the title of this blog. As you can see, it is “Thriving in Grace”. There are several definitions of the word thrive. For my purposes, I will use this one–“to prosper, flourish”. What do you think of when you see those words? I think most people think of gaining wealth or material things. There are also words in the definitions though that speak to things besides gaining wealth. These things include growth or progressing towards a goal. That’s what I mean when I use the word thriving in my title. I’m growing in grace, progressing towards grace.

Now, what about grace, the most important part of the Christian faith? The verses you can see above illustrate the concept well. Ephesians 2:8-9 says, “For it is by grace you have been saved–and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God–not by works, so that no one can boast. ” There is also a definition in the dictionary along these same lines. “the free and unmerited favor of God, as manifested in the salvation of sinners and the bestowal of blessings.”  But people have a hard time accepting grace, accepting that they don’t need to do anything for this miracle. Why is that? It might have something to do with the way people have been brought up–especially in the United States–thinking that everything has a cost. But, that’s not the case with grace. God’s grace is given freely. His son, Jesus Christ, died on the cross for us, for all of our sins. The only thing, the only thing, that is required is belief. It doesn’t matter what you’ve done; it doesn’t matter if you don’t feel adequate. The gift is the same for everyone.

Now, as you read this, you might think there’s no way you could accept this free gift–that I have no idea what you’ve said or done, that I seem to have it all together. That would be the furthest thing from the truth. I have been a professed Christian for a long time, but I have to re-accept God’s grace every day. Every day I am not worthy of what he has done for me. And that is why I have titled this blog, “Thriving in Grace”. I want to show all of you how you can flourish, how you can grow in the grace God wants  to give you.

Looking forward to starting this adventure with you.

God’s blessings to all of you today.

One thought on “A New Beginning”

  1. Yes. Grace is scandalous and grates on our performance-based identities. Once accepted, however, we are empowered to truly live…finally. Thanks for this reminder. I look forward to reading more.

Leave a Reply

